Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. (AKA)

AKA was founded January 15, 1908 on the campus of Howard University.  The first Greek letter organization founded by and for African American women. For over 115 years Alpha Kappa Alpha has been deeply rooted in service, sisterhood, and scholarship. Open to all women, AKA has such prominent members as Coretta Scott King, Maya Angelou, Alicia Keys and Kamala Harris.  Service and sisterhood have been the cornerstone of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® since 1908. With the theme Soaring to Greater Heights of Service and Sisterhood, the 2022-2026 administration seeks to build upon Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority’s rich legacy of service by galvanizing our sisterhood of more than 120,000 active members to lead on the front lines of change, education, and advocacy.

This administration has six initiatives. Strengthen Our Sisterhood will serve as the administration’s “Foundation Initiative” as we strengthen our bonds to support our service mission.

The remaining five initiatives will serve as the “Program Initiatives” which include:

Empower Our Families
Build Our Economic Wealth
Enhance Our Environment
Advocate for Social Justice
Uplift Our Local Community

These initiatives are designed to improve the lives of those we serve. We will work collaboratively to maximize our outreach on progressive endeavors and consistently produce leaders who will advance our credo of service. 

For questions about the Sigma Phi Chapter, contact Brandi R. Moody at or (404) 483 - 4443

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. 

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is a private, not-for-profit organization founded on the campus of Howard University on January 13, 1913, by twenty-two collegiate women. The sorority's purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica, West Africa, Southern African, United Arab Emirates and the Republic of Korea.


The Tau Omicron Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered on the campus of Mercer University, Cecil B. Day Campus on April 24, 2004, by thirteen collegiate students becoming the 960th chapter established in the sorority. The Tau Omicron Chapter is comprised of students attending the Atlanta, Douglas, and Henry County campuses of Mercer University. Please follow us on Instagram @tauomicrondst to learn more about us and our programs.


Formal Rush will be held in Spring 2024.  To learn more about becoming a member, please visit